AL and Cespedes take the Derby-Who will take the Game?

No one quite knew what to expect when Robinson Cano chose Yoenis Cespedes for the American League Home Run Derby team; he hadn’t even made the All-Star team.  Nevertheless, Cespedes proved his worth right away, hitting 17 homers in the first round.  That gave the AL Derby team a huge advantage and ultimately the win in the team event.


In the final round, Bryce Harper took the plate first to start the individual competition.  Harper hit a solid 8 home runs, with a long ball of 447 feet.  Cespedes, more than warmed up from just having won the team event, stepped up to the plate and one-upped Harper; hitting 9 home runs, making the 9th his long ball at 455 feet.


Yoenis Cespedes becoming the first winner of the Home Run Derby Crown who isn’t actually on the All-Star team is just the fireworks baseball fans want to see in the coveted Midsummer Classic.  Now, who will win tonight’s game?


The National League has taken the last 3 All-Star games, which was a huge shift with the American League practically owning the game for more than a decade.  Where it will go from here, no one knows, but tonight’s game should prove to be an exciting one.


The starting pitchers, Matt Harvey of the Mets for the NL (7-2, 2.35 ERA) and Max Scherzer of the Tigers for the AL (13-1, 3.19 ERA), are sure to stifle some of the big bats they’ll see tonight.  The likes of which include Chris Davis, David Wright, Robinson Cano and Michael Cuddyer.


The game is set for July 16th at 8:00 p.m. (EST) at Citi Field, Flushing, NY.


SGN Correspondent Liam Bancroft